The Museum of Childhood Project Ireland aims to establish a museum based in Dún Laoghaire, promoting the widest understanding of our distinctive culture, history, stories and place in the world, from the perspective of childhood and growing up on the island of Ireland, and amongst the diaspora.

As the foremost institution of its kind in Ireland, we aim:

  • To collect, preserve, promote and exhibit Ireland’s portable material heritage and history from a childhood perspective
  • To interpret, promote, form, and borrow collections and to make them accessible to audiences at home and abroad
  • To be an authoritative voice on Irish childhood heritage, culture and history; past to present
  • To showcase research on the themes of childhood by our team of historians
  • To showcase research on Children’s Rights in an Irish and international context by our dedicated Rights team
  • To be a leader in education, research, scholarship and to collaborate and build academic partnerships , in regard to childhood history on the island of Ireland and abroad

Do look out for our ongoing displays at Bank of Ireland Dún Laoghaire.

The first of our exhibitions in the series on Children in War, Dr Korczak, Champion of the Child, is traveling around Ireland, Summer 2018. (Lexicon Dún Laoghaire (April), Galway City Library (May), Derry Central Library (June), Belfast Central Library (July), Cork City Library (August))

We have applied for Charitable status.

We are a completely voluntary project. Please feel free to contact us if you would like to help in any way, or if you have any questions for us in regard to the museum.