Bloomsday Centenary Writing Competition

Following on from the hugely successful 2019 Dubliners Short Story Competition (organised by Dr Anne Marie D’Arcy as part of the James Joyce: Apocalypse & Mediaevalism in Marsh’s Library exhibition), we are teaming up with Marsh’s Library again to launch our annual Bloomsday Writing Competition.

To mark the centenary of James Joyce’s Ulysses, we are inviting young authors to write about any one day in your own life, real or imagined, in your own part of the world, in your own voice.

Guidelines for Entrants

Entrants must be 15yrs or younger

Stories must be 500 words or less

Parents/Guardians/Teachers send entries to:

Please title your story and include the author’s name, age, county/country of abode

Competition Deadline: 23 May 2022


This year, the School of English, Drama and Film at University College Dublin has kindly offered to sponsor our event. Therefore, the school attended by the first placed author will receive a €100 book token. The first placed author will receive a €50 book token, the second placed author a €30 book token, and the third placed author a €20 book token.

Joycean Judging Panel

Dr Richard Barlow (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
Dr Anne Marie D’Arcy (Trinity College Dublin)
Daniel Mulhall (Ambassador of Ireland to the United States)
Dr Katherine O’Callaghan (University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA)

Results and Online Exhibition

We will announce our overall winner, runners up, and shortlisted authors on Bloomsday (June 16). The stories written by these authors will later be showcased as part of our Bloomsday Centenary Online Exhibition.

The online exhibition for last year’s Joyce-themed writing competition can be found below: